The Intermountain Conservation District

The Intermountain Conservation District (IMCD), established in 1997, is a non-profit, grassroots, watershed based organization with a
mandate to educate and promote sustainable management of the landscape and resources

District Synopsis

     The IMCD was formed in partnership with the Province of Manitoba, the following urban and rural municipalities Dauphin, Ethelbert, Gilbert Plains, Grandview, Mossey River, Mountain South and Winnipegosis.  The District encompasses two of nine watersheds that comprise the Lake Manitoba basin consisting of approximately 7,200 square kilometres or 720,079 hectares (ha) (1,779,290 acres).  

      The IMCD is one of the largest Conservation Districts in Manitoba and has unique landscape challenges due to its proximity to the steeply sloped land of Riding Mountain National Park and Duck Mountain Provincial Park. Seven sub-watersheds (as indicated on the map) are in IMCD and flow either into Dauphin Lake or Lake Winnipegosis.


                                                           Manitoba Sustainable Development

And the following Municipalities

City of Dauphin       Gilbert Plains Municipality    Grandview Municipality 
Mossey River Municipality   Municipalityof Ethelbert    R.M. of Dauphin    
R.M. of Mountain South

Intermountain Conservation District Programming